Tibet, the roof of the world is located on the top of the world and surrounded by the great Himalaya mountain range. It is a mysterious kingdom to many outsiders. The land of snow is another title given to Tibet and known to many as well and the term Tibet always chills the readers’ mind when it is introduced the rest of the world. However, Tibet as is by no means to to have the notion that entire Tibet is snow covered and ice-capped throughout the year, but with no any sign of inhabitation. In fact, it is true only when the geophysical location of Tibet is referred Tibet is located on the Himalaya mountain range which hosts most of world highest mountain. These ranges run by Leaps and bounds across the country Nychen Thangla showing their beautiful snow covered peak against the bluest skies.

To be stressed that Tibet is not North Pole. The reality is that it snows only once or twice in a year at lower region in Tibet due to the perpetuity of bright sunshine even though the high mountains are truly covered with snow in winter time. It is not at all cold even in winter time comparatively. Tibet is gifted with strong and abundant sunshine that it receives over 3000 hours strong sunshine throughout the year which makes Tibet warm.

Geographically, Tibet can be divided into three major parts: the east, north, and south. The eastern part is forest region, occupied approximately one-fourth by trees. Virgin forests run across this entire area. The northern part is open grassland where nomads, yaks and sheep dwell. This part occupies approximately half of Tibet. The southern and central part is the agricultural region, occupying about one-fourth of Tibet total land area. All major Tibetan cities and towns such as Lhasa, Shigatse, Gyantse and Tsetang located here. It is considered as the cultural center of Tibet. The total area of the TAR is 1,200,000 square kilometers and its population is 2,800,000. The region is administratively divided into one municipality and six prefectures. The municipality city is Lhasa, while the sex prefectures are Shigatse, Ngari, Lhoka, Chamdo, Nakchu and Nyigtri. The people’s government of TAR exercises the highest administrative authority in Tibet.